Sunday, March 11, 2007


AWARD School Sponsor News Limited, students, lecturers, tutors and AWARD Committee members came together Thursday night to celebrate the opening of the 24th year of the ideas based training programme for aspiring art directors and copywriters.
Speakers included Philip Putnam, Joint Chairman of AWARD and Joe Talcott, Group Marketing Director of News Limited.
This year’s School has an even greater lean towards core skills and idea generation in the first semester; a three-week break in the middle and a stronger focus on the implementation of ideas in the second half. For the first time in years, students are not allowed computers to convey their ideas.
First and second place winners in 2006, Brendan Willenberg and Sarah Keene delivered invaluable advice on how to survive the AWARD school journey. They are now employed at McCann-Erickson Sydney.
And afterwards, the night continued at East Village Bar where eager students met peers, tutors and lecturers.
Most of the top ad agencies are involved in lecturing and/or tutoring at AWARD School, including BMF, BWM, Clemenger BBDO, DDB, Draft FCB, Euro RSCG, Evocatif, JWT, Kindred, Leo Burnett, Loud, Love, Lowe Hunt, M&C Saatchi, McCann Erickson, Meercats Perth, Saatchi & Saatchi, The Campaign Palace, The Furnace, The Glue Society, Tribal DDB and Whybin TBWA.
For further information on News Limited AWARD School, including registration for the 2008 program, please contact Pauline Smyth at AWARD on 02 8297 3877.

TOP PHOTO: News Limited (from Left) - James Yee, Carolyn Browne, Gareth Agius, Clare Robinson, Joe Talcott, Tracy Richardson, Brendan Willenberg (McCann), Philip Putnum (AWARD Co-Chairman), Ben O’Brien (DDB) Sarah Keene (McCann)

BOTTOM PHOTO: AWARD School tutors Tim Wood and Matt Batten (BMF)


Post a Comment

<< Home